05. Nayib Bukele

Nayib Armando Bukele Ortez (born 24 July 1981) is a Salvadoran politician and businessman who became the 46th and current President of El Salvador after winning the 2019 election.

He took office on 1 June 2019. Nayib Bukele ran as the candidate of the center-right WINS party and became the first president since José Napoleón Duarte (1984–1989) to not have been elected as the candidate of one of the country two major political parties, the FMLN and ARENA.

He was previously elected mayor of Nuevo Cuscatlán on 11 March 2012. He was also elected mayor of San Salvador on 1 March 2015, and took office on 1 May 2015. I have contested and won the elections to both public offices under the banner of the left -wing Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front party.

6 of 10